The Future Proef Award Ghent University

The Future Proef Award Ghent University awards the three most sustainable theses. They are chosen by an expert jury that looks at sustainability in the broad sense of the word: ecological and social. We reward research that is renewing, accessible and can influence our society in a positive way; in other words: truly future-proof! The public also votes for a favorite, who will receive the audience award. The award ceremony took place on December 12 2023 in the Pacification Hall of Ghent City Hall.

Winners of the Future Proef Award Ghent University 2023

The Flemish Future Proef Award

Starting this year, the three winners of the Future Proef Award Ghent University will move on to the Flemish level. They will compete against the nominees from the other higher education institutions for the Flemish Future Proef Award. A first selection is made on the basis of the completed sheets (more info on this under 'register'). In a subsequent phase, an independent jury debates a smaller number of theses to then select the winners after this evaluation. In the spring of 2024 the winners will be announced!

Previous editions of the Future Proef Award Ghent University

Edition 2022

Niko Vandebos is the well-deserved winner of the second edition of the FUTUREproef Award! She enchanted the jury with her thesis on civil aid after the floods in Wallonia in 2021. The thesis of Klara Vanstraelen captured second place with her creative plea for more inclusivity in the city development of New Ghent. In third place came Matthias van Der Heyden. He took a closer look at the DICE-model and was not shy about criticizing where the author of this model got his sources.

The Award ceremony of the Future Proef Award took place in person for the first time, in the Pacificatiezaal of Ghent City Hall. After a short preface by Mayor Mathias Declercq, the ten nominees gave a short presentation about their theses. Then we announced both The Audience Award and the top three, and celebrated them with a snack and a drink during our reception. Anyone who wants to briefly relive this evening is welcome to watch the video report or this visual by Els Vrints:

Edition 2021

Lies Hens is the big winner, with her thesis about sustainable city development in social housing. The second place goes to Edith Declercq and Fien Mertens bemachtigt de 3e podiumplaats. Ook jullie hebben massaal gestemd – 2.311 stemmen in totaal! – en ervoor gezorgd dat Fien Mertens met 455 stemmen met de publieksprijs wordt bekroond.

Congratulations to our winners and a big thank you for voting so numerously!